I imagine that you’re probably bored of me harping on about this by now, but I’m determined to drum up further support for the Learning Transfer Survey 2010. Many advocates of great ideas have had to drive their point home before having it acknowledged: Copernicus had to fight for his theory of heliocentricity, Darwin had to positively force the Theory of Evolution down the throats of some of his more zealous contemporaries and if, in order to follow in the footsteps of great men, I have to prattle incessantly on about this survey, then prattle I shall!

Even James Joyce, the greatest writer of an age, had to approach a number of different publishers with A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man before it was taken up. The first state in America to pass a law requiring car manufacturers to fit seat belts was New York, as recently as 1984. To this day, the state of New Hampshire is yet to take the hint. What I hope I’m making clear is that rarely is a brilliant idea met with resounding support straight away.

The good news is that at the moment, the official figure rests at just below 300 completed surveys. Were we a less ambitious organisation, we’d be tempted to call it a day. Unfortunately, the standard that we have set for ourselves is unreasonably high, and so here I am, once again, urging you all to get involved. Even if you’re not entirely convinced that your participation in the survey is essential and that you will be making an invaluable contribution to your field, just have faith that this is one of those fantastic ideas that aren’t immediately recognised as such. In fact, I’m really starting to like this line of reasoning. The applications could be endless…

“Excuse me, dear, but I’m extremely hungry. Do you think I could have a sandwich?”

“Make it yourself.”

“I really think it would be best if you made it for me.”

“Well, I don’t. If you want a sandwich, you’ll have to get off the sofa and fix one up.”

“Is that so?”

“Yes, it is.”

“Did you know that when Filippo Bruno first propounded his notion of the infinite universe, this was in 1584, mind, he too was faced with stiff criticism. So stiff, in fact, that in 1600 the church thought it fit to have him executed for heresy.”

“I don’t see your point.”

“I just think that often we fail to appreciate the scale of great ideas at first reckoning.”

“Oh, you do, do you?”

“Entirely.”

“Well, I’m still not making you a sandwich.”

“Did you know that in 1763…”

“Fine! Have your blinking sandwich, I can’t take this any more!”

So, now that I’ve got that somewhat strained allegory out of the way, I implore you all to join in and take part in the Learning Transfer Survey 2010!